The Wind Shall Blow for Evermore (2003)

The Iron Horse


01. Jig Guingamp/ The Braes Of Mayen/ Macleod’s O’Rafferty 
02. Marstein/ In Watercolour/ Templewood
03. Duncan Gray
04. Da Grocer/ The Bride’s Reel/ Birlin’ In Brittany/ The Cambridge Hornpipe
05. The Twa Corbies
06. Cille Choirill/ Jim’s Prayer
07. Cara’s Bite/ Jump At The Sun/ Jig Of Life
08. Helen Of Kirkconnel
09. Amber & Steel/ Brook’s Bouree
10. I Love My Bouzouki/ Hungarian Tune/ Bulgarian Red
11. The Handsome Cabin Boy
12. The Emigrant/ The West End Reel/ The Clover Field

'THE IRON HORSE 'The Wind Shall Blow For Evermore' Lochshore CDLDL1315
After a long absence, this release marks the welcome return to silicon of one of the most exciting Scottish bands of the nineties. The Wind Shall Blow For Evermore is in many ways a return to the best of Iron Horse.
It's a return to the original line-up, with three of the founders: Gavin Marwick on fiddle, Annie Grace on whistles, and Ross Kennedy on vocals. The missing talents of Mr Rod Paul and Miss Lynn Morrison are substituted by latecomer Stevie Lawrence on stringy things and new boy Stuart Glasgow on keyboards, but fortunately neither of them has opted for long blonde hair.
It's a return to the roots of the band, to the mix of old and new material, which they brought so vividly to life a decade ago. The last two Iron Horse albums were teetering on the brink of the New Age Celtic abyss, but this one is back on traditional terra firma. Ross Kennedy brings old chestnuts like Duncan Gray and Twa Corbies to vivid life, and tells a very convincing tale of lost love with Helen of Kirkconnel. Gavin Marwick's tunes are as rich and rare as ever: The Clover Field vies with the slower, slightly Scandinavian Marstein for pride of place. Most importantly, it's a return to top form for Iron Horse. The opening track could come from either of the band's first two albums: full of fire, with an untamed beauty. MacLeod's O'Rafferty is a wonderful tune, which deserves to be up there alongside Paddy O'Rafferty whence it was derived. The slow air Cille Choirill is a masterpiece, mournful and enchanting, and the waltz that follows, is equally captivating. The set of reels starting with Da Grocer is another winner, combining dazzling technique with a deep passion for the music.
This album is much, much more than a harking back to former glory: there are plenty of pleasant surprises. Stevie plies the wheel of his hurdy-gurdy to great effect, turning Marstein into a spine-tingling triumph, and he also contributes a lovely jig in Cara's Bite. Eastern European influences are also a new departure: Charlie McKerron's Bulgarian Red continues its popular run, and it's joined by a couple of traditional tunes from similar vineyards. And there's more. So whether you're a long-time fan of Iron Horse, or just a lover of good music who hasn't been lucky enough to encounter them before, this CD is essential listening - and extremely enjoyable too.’ - Living Tradition